Center Leadership

Scientific Leadership

Our multidisciplinary team includes neurologists, psychiatrists, pediatricians, psychologists, and neuroscientists with expertise in neurodevelopment, molecular genetics, neuroimaging, computer science, psychology, and education.

    Maria Luisa Gorno Tempini, MD, PhD.

    Charles Schwab Endowed Professorship in Dyslexia and Neurodevelopment, Director of Neurology; Co-director, UCSF Dyslexia Center

    Dr. Maria Luisa Gorno Tempini is a behavioral neurologist and the Co-Director of the UCSF Dyslexia Center. She is Professor of Neurology and Director of the Language & Neurobiology Laboratory at the Memory and Aging Center. Her expertise is in cognitive neurology, applying neuropsychological and neuroimaging techniques to understand language difficulties across the lifespan, ranging from neurological diseases to neurodevelopmental challenges and gifts. In 2014, Dr. Gorno Tempini co-founded the UCSF Dyslexia Center. 

    Robert Hendren, DO.

    Professor of Psychiatry, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry; Director of Psychiatry; Co-director, UCSF Dyslexia Center

    Robert L. Hendren, D.O., is Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Science; Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry; Co-Director of the UCSF Dyslexia Center; and Director, Neurodevelopmental, Translational Outcomes Research Program (PRONTO). His current areas of research and publication interests are translational interventional outcomes research including clinical pharmacology, nutraceutical and nutritional trials using biomarkers (MRI, measures of inflammation, oxidative stress, immune function and pharmacogenomics) to enhance resilience in neurodevelopmental disorders.

    Bruce Miller, MD

    A.W. and Mary Margaret Clausen Distinguished Professor in Neurology; Director, Memory and Aging Center; Director, Global Brain Health Institute

    Dr. Miller is Professor of Neurology and Psychiatry with specialty in behavioral neurology. He is the Director of the UCSF Memory and Aging Center. His clinical and research expertise are in understanding the anatomical and molecular basis of neurological diseases and neurodevelopmental differences. He has clinical and research expertise in aging and neurodegenerative disorders, as well as the neurobiological basis of behavior and creativity. In 2014, He co-founded the UCSF Dyslexia center with Dr. Gorno Tempini.


    Fumiko Hoeft, MD, PhD,

    Professor, Psychiarty; Deputy Director, UCSF Dyslexia Center

    Dr. Fumiko Hoeft is Professor of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry and Director of BrainLENS at UCSF. She is a psychiatrist and developmental cognitive neuroscientist, and trained at institutions including, Keio Univ (Tokyo), Harvard, Caltech and Stanford. She is interested in using machine learning algorithms, graph theoretical analysis and multimodal neuroimaging techniques to understand how the brain develops and functions, particularly in healthy children, in those with learning differences (dyslexia), socio-emotional challenges and with gifts & talents. 

    Executive Board

    Honorary Chair: Gavin Newsom (Lt. Governor of California)

    Co-Chairs: Steve Carnevale and David Evans (Charles Armstrong School Board of Trustees)

    Maria Luisa Gorno-Tempini (UCSF)

    Robert Hendren (UCSF)

    Fumiko Hoeft (UCSF)

    Bruce Miller (UCSF)

    Jessica Miller (Head of Charles Armstrong School)

    Leadership Circle

    Through their annual contributions, Leadership Circle members pave the way for the UCSF Dyslexia Center’s sustained excellence in groundbreaking research and medical evaluations of learning differences.  Members are not bystanders but partners in UCSF breakthroughs.  Leadership Circle members are provided the opportunity to actively engage with researchers to provide the thought leadership required to impact student learning.

    Mike & Loren Gordon

    Luca & Katrina Maestri

    Kurt & Tammy Mobley

    Sandy Otellini

    Justin & Lee Sadrian

    Sebastian Scripps

    Sinclair Sherrill

    Ambassador Circle

    Volunteer leaders and supporters who serve as active ambassadors and advocates for the UCSF Dyslexia Center, deeply connected to our core mission.

    Carol Beatty – Dyslexia Advocate

    Julie Brady – Dyslexia Advocate

    Andy Butler – CEO Square Panda

    David Flink – Founder & CEO Eye-to-Eye

    Andrew Friedman – President & CEO Learning Ally

    Claudia Koochek – Head Westmark School (Founding member of the UCSF Dyslexia Center)

    Karen Kruger – Charles Armstrong School

    Tobie Meyer – Decoding Dyslexia California

    Kyle Redford – Marin Country Day School

    Stu Shader – Learning Ally

    Kerry Slattery – Organizational Consultant and Dyslexia Advocate

    Kelly Vercellino –Dyslexia Advocate

    Linda Yates – Founder & CEO Mach 49